If Paul Revere were around I think he’d do a poetry remix that goes a little something like this….
Listen my children and you shall hear
Of the underdog USA fans cheer,
On the twelfth of June, in Tweny-ten;
Hardly a man is now alive
Who denies that famous day and year.
He said to his friend, "If the British play
By header or kick from the town to-night,
Hang Tim Howard aloft in the belfry goal
Of the South Africa tower as a signal light,--
One if by Beckham, and two if by Ronney;
And I on the opposite field will be,
Ready to run and spread the alarm
Through every USA town and farm,
For the country folk to be up and to arm."
Blow after blow, we the underdogs prove to England they’ve got nothin’ on us. First our little mixer with them called the Boston Tea Party, then our full blown rager called Revoluntionary War, and last but not least in 1950 the “Miracle on Grass.” At the time the English called themselves the “Kings of Football” when they went up against us in the 1950 Cup. The Americans, consisting of semi-professional soccer players, was scrapped together to make a team. That shanty team played the game of their lives, beating England 1-0 for the first time ever. We have stood up to the Brits when we petitioned ‘No taxation without representation’, when we told BP they had pay for their spill (squandering many Englishmen’s lofty retirement investments), and a few days ago when we met them on the green. Not only do we prove to have better dental plans than they do but we prove not to be underestimated when it comes to a sport that 2/3 of our country probably hasn’t heard of.
Although I think England has a better team than the US we can’t deny the outcome of the game. With Green making an embarrassing attempt of a save, we ended the game with a tie, 1-1. I was a bit disappointed that Rooney didn’t play a bigger role in the game but maybe next time. When I think of Rooney I think of die hard Brit fan in a hole in the wall pub that would smash a bottle over his head just for the love of the game. Rooney = the man. I was really disappointed that Beckham hurt himself and can’t play but I can’t deny the pleasure I took in seeing him on the sidelines in that 3 piece vested suit. Beckham = one of the sexiest men alive. I’m not sure how far USA will get in the World Cup just off of their raw talent but Tim Howard is a force to be reckoned with and to me he’s what gives the team their best chance for success.
One of my favorite aspects of this game, undeniably, was the eye candy. Beckham on the sideline, Bocanegra as our captain, Donavan (try to block out the receding hairline), and even Green in his little green getup all made the game a bit more sultry. My two favorites though have to be Beckham and Bocanegra. Talk about tall dark and handsome and rugged yet pretty boy blonde – blondes aren’t my type usually/ever but let’s be honest anyone would make an exception for Beckham.
i'm not pleased with the anti-blonde spin that this blog has taken. it truly is a blemish on an otherwise enjoyable piece of work.
ReplyDeleteLAWL CAT
ReplyDelete