Monday, June 14, 2010

Crikey!

History has shown us that when an island stands between Germany and complete dominance, Germany crumbles. Not this time. Australia, an island of kangaroos, shrimp on the barbie’s, the Sydney Opera House, and boomerangs as their lethal weapon will think twice before getting on the same field as Germany again. Although, their luck has been down when it comes to complete European domination no one can deny Germany as the land of the Panzer tank designed by the same man that brought you the 911 twin turbo, Benz/BMW/Porsche/Maybach, angry Rammstein music, and Einstein.

Germany’s first goal by Podolski in the first 10 minutes of the game gave a new meaning to Blitzkrieg. Australia, unlike Poland, could not have been duped with the “were leaving” explanation from Germany as they marched in backwards. Yet still the deutschland proved to be strong, methodical, and organized (I’m going to refrain a WWII reference here). The German’s went into their second goal head on (pun intended). After a beautiful cross, Klose with the header put the ball in the back of the net or in Australian “rayt in de pouch.” Their third goal, in the inside corner, crushed the hopes of Australia. In my opinion, the fourth goal was just mean. Ending the game 4-0, Germany vs. Australia, Steve Erwin was probably rolling in his grave (RIP). All in all Germany stood strong like the Berlin wall and I’m excited to see what they bring to their next game.

My favorite players of this game include Oezil, Podolski, Lahm, and Klose. Unfortunately though, I didn’t scope out any future husbands for myself. But I did fancy the German coach a bit. Did anyone else see an uncanny resemblance between him and Peter Gallagher?


The Red Coats are Coming!

If Paul Revere were around I think he’d do a poetry remix that goes a little something like this….

Listen my children and you shall hear
Of the underdog USA fans cheer,
On the twelfth of June, in Tweny-ten;
Hardly a man is now alive
Who denies that famous day and year.

He said to his friend, "If the British play
By header or kick from the town to-night,
Hang Tim Howard aloft in the belfry goal
Of the South Africa tower as a signal light,--
One if by Beckham, and two if by Ronney;
And I on the opposite field will be,
Ready to run and spread the alarm
Through every USA town and farm,
For the country folk to be up and to arm."

Blow after blow, we the underdogs prove to England they’ve got nothin’ on us. First our little mixer with them called the Boston Tea Party, then our full blown rager called Revoluntionary War, and last but not least in 1950 the “Miracle on Grass.” At the time the English called themselves the “Kings of Football” when they went up against us in the 1950 Cup. The Americans, consisting of semi-professional soccer players, was scrapped together to make a team. That shanty team played the game of their lives, beating England 1-0 for the first time ever. We have stood up to the Brits when we petitioned ‘No taxation without representation’, when we told BP they had pay for their spill (squandering many Englishmen’s lofty retirement investments), and a few days ago when we met them on the green. Not only do we prove to have better dental plans than they do but we prove not to be underestimated when it comes to a sport that 2/3 of our country probably hasn’t heard of.

Although I think England has a better team than the US we can’t deny the outcome of the game. With Green making an embarrassing attempt of a save, we ended the game with a tie, 1-1. I was a bit disappointed that Rooney didn’t play a bigger role in the game but maybe next time. When I think of Rooney I think of die hard Brit fan in a hole in the wall pub that would smash a bottle over his head just for the love of the game. Rooney = the man. I was really disappointed that Beckham hurt himself and can’t play but I can’t deny the pleasure I took in seeing him on the sidelines in that 3 piece vested suit. Beckham = one of the sexiest men alive. I’m not sure how far USA will get in the World Cup just off of their raw talent but Tim Howard is a force to be reckoned with and to me he’s what gives the team their best chance for success.

One of my favorite aspects of this game, undeniably, was the eye candy. Beckham on the sideline, Bocanegra as our captain, Donavan (try to block out the receding hairline), and even Green in his little green getup all made the game a bit more sultry. My two favorites though have to be Beckham and Bocanegra. Talk about tall dark and handsome and rugged yet pretty boy blonde – blondes aren’t my type usually/ever but let’s be honest anyone would make an exception for Beckham.


VS

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Windex Heals All Wounds?

Greece goes head to head with South Korea. Everything the two cultures stood for hit the field: gyro vs. kimchi, hairy vs. hairless, My Big Fat Greek Wedding vs. Jumong, lamb vs. dog (not that I judge what people eat), and Euro vs. Won. I watched the whole game and would love to give my full input but I wasn’t able to catch any of the players’ names – to me everything ended in –ung or –opolous. The only name that stuck with me was South Korea’s secret weapon, Jisung. Take that North Korea! While you spend all that money trying to build nukes, South Korea has bred their own weapon, an Asian soccer version of Chuck Norris. Shoot another torpedo….see what happens! But that’s only because he’s from Manchester United and played very well, as expected.

The first goal was assisted by Ping Pong Wax-On Wax-Off and finished by Jung-Soo using karat-ayyy putting the ball in the back post. No, the South Koreans didn’t love the ball long time, unlike the Greeks, just for 90 minutes. The Koreans scored sum on the Greeks and dimsum more. Yes, the South Koreans won without Ninja stars, smoke bombs or flying sidekicks. Then again who can stop a ball that is shot at an angle calculated with a protractor? For the second goal, Jisung impressively, from midfield, out ran and out dribbled two of Greece’s defenders securing the victory.

Looks like Greece is just as bad at soccer as they are at managing their economy. There won’t be such a big fat Greek wedding after all – and no Greeks did not invent soccer….the Persians did….as you can tell by Iran’s standings in the World Cup (nonexistent). Either way Windex won’t heal this wound Greece. Let’s see if they can redeem themselves next game.

¡Tengo la Camisa Negra!


Mexico vs. South Africa. It was the World Cup game opener and to be honest I wasn’t very impressed. Although I only got to watch half of the game I expected more from Mexico. But I am impressed with and proud of South Africa. I’d like to compare this game with Mexican’s fight past our insecure border and Africa’s fight against aids….it all comes up as a tie.

The Blogging Has Begun

I would never in a million years consider myself a blogger. I usually wouldn't have the time for it and I don't consider myself a good writer in the least bit. My friend Anna Pon started blogging just for the hell of it (check out her blog - the world cup from a girls point of view) and it inspired me to start my own. I really just wanted to help her with hers but I thought what the hell I might as well pass the time this summer in between studying for my math class and MCATs with a World Cup commentary blog. I don't expect it to be very good so don't judge me lol. I'm just throwing out my own thoughts and opinions about the World Cup hoping someone will enjoy it. I don't plan on writing about every game just the ones that peak my interest. I have a little catching up to do but expect more to come soon!